Compassion vs. Nature

by Mark Tassi

I got an email the other day from a friend of mine (our correspondence is reproduced below, I changed her name as she has not given me permission to mention this publically), a wonderful person and well-known fruitarian, about plants and it got me thinking about our motivation for doing what we do, for following the lifestyle that we follow.

As far as this motivating factor is concerned, we basically find two camps: 1) those who follow a plant-based diet for health and well-being, and 2) vegans or those who follow a plant-based diet out of compassion for animals.

My knowledge of plants and the research which has been done has led me to take this analysis to a more philosophical level. That is, do we follow a plant-based diet because of compassion or because it is compatible with our true biological nature?

The metaphysician has for millennia known that all things have feeling, that all things are living, and that all things possess that which can be termed as mind. Without any doubt whatsoever, this is so. It has been shown that certain trees which cannot be transplanted without death resulting can be transplanted successfully after being administered an anesthetic. It has been shown that metal, given an anesthetic before being cut, will last longer than metal cut without the application of an anesthetic.

In order for atoms to maintain a certain pattern of direction that will hold a predetermined order to keep the molecules of a certain matter together in a predetermined pattern of direction and vibration and to create those molecules in the first place requires the presence of mind. This is obvious to any thinking individual.

Anything with mind, therefore, has feeling. Therefore, all things have feeling.

If a rock or a piece of metal, therefore, has feeling, what then would the feeling of a plant be like? One could only imagine that it would be rather tremendous. Why should it be otherwise? The work and research of the great Indian scientist, J.C. Bose, had proven thus, as well as the amazing research which laid the groundwork for the basis of The Secret Life of Plants.

This brings us back to the original question. Do we do what we do out of compassion or out of a deep empathy, a deep understanding of our true biological nature?  In light of the aforementioned, it must certainly be the later.

The vegan, God bless him, does what he does because he has compassion for the animals and that is admirable. In an earlier post, the hellish nature of the factory farm was discussed. But are we to ignore the sentient quality of the rest of God’s creation? The average vegan would have us do so.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, if one wants to be truly compassionate in this line and still eat, then one must at least be a fruitarian in that one eats the fruit of the vine and not the vine itself, or the fruit of the tree and not the tree itself, leaving the tree untouched and standing.

I’ve also said it before and I will also say it again, I’ve made enemies saying these kinds of things, that all things have life, that all things have feeling, that all things have Divinity!

Children of God we are, all of us. Divine we are, all of us. We are One. And to think that there is anything in creation without thought, without sentience is to diminish the meaning of God and all that That is, is to diminish the meaning of Oneness and all that That implies, is bring the Glory of God down to a pathetic and imagined level.

If the Heaven on Earth as prophesied is to come to pass, and as sure as God is it must, then certainly must one love and adore all of God’s creatures, including the rocks themselves.

This I surrender as the truth; this I surrender as the very blood which courses through these veins.

To your health,

M


Dear Mark,
Sorry to hear you got banned from 30Bananas.
I enjoyed your contributions there.

Something that I have been thinking for a while is that vegans can often get really defensive if the subject of plants having feelings comes up.
It is almost as if they feel accused of something.
Since reading ‘The Secret Life of Plants’ my eyes were opened to something.
People used to justify eating and experimenting on animals because they said they did not feel pain or have souls.
And I feel that many vegans discredit the notion of plants feeling anything, in a similar way.

I appreciate that I feel much more upset when I see an animal being killed to a plant being killed. But this is not always the case. For example it pains me more to see a mighty tree felled than an insect squashed.
So it seems to me that sometimes the lines we draw are arbitrary, and there really are no absolutes.

I appreciate that you are on a similar dietary path but you also consider that plants have feelings.

I would like to do a YouTube video on the ethical side of fruitarianism. But I want to try and do it in such a way that I do not get people feeling defensive or feeling judged. But I do want to put forward the idea of plants having a consciousness.

I think just as people often identify more with the fluffy animals rather than the insects because we are mammals, so too do people identify more with animal suffering because we are animals.

Wishing you a Beautiful Day,
Jane


Thanks Jane. This is deep insight here. I too was deeply affected by The Secret Life of Plants. As a young vocal student, Stevie Wonder was my idol. At the age of 18, when I got his album, The Secret Life of Plants, that changed everything. I was also a fruitarian for a period because I did not want to harm or kill plants. I still don’t, of course, and may return to that path.

My girlfriend of years ago bought a cut Christmas tree one year. We both were so sad to watch it die. She vowed to never do that again. After Christmas was over, we did not throw the dead tree in the trash. Instead, we took it into the woods to give it a proper “burial”. This year I have a live, growing Christmas tree and it is radiating a wonderful energy. The tree knows that it is loved and adored and is returning its love to me and to everyone in this house. I’m sure even the rocks can feel it.

I am very aware how vegans react to this and I have made myself unpopular on 30bad by speaking of these things. I can only speak the truth as far as I know it Jane and if I get crucified for that, then so be it. The joy of speaking the truth as I believe it to be far outweighs any negative reaction that may come of it. “I’m here to speak the truth, not to be popular,” I would often say.

I look forward to your future videos and seeing you in August at the festival.

Mark


References:

The Secret Life of Plants by Peter Tomkins
The Secret Life of Plants
by Stevie Wonder
The Seven  Dimensions of Creation
by Dr. George King
Autobiography of a Yogi 
by Paramahansa Yogananda
What Plants Talk About

 

 

